New International Commentary Series
Get the FeedGet RSS Feed


This series is composed of two distinct sets:

The New International Commentary on the New Testament, (21 total volumes) now released in Accordance. General Editors: Ned B. Stonehouse, F. F. Bruce, Gordon D. Fee


“. . . undertaken to provide earnest students of the New Testament with an exposition that is thorough and abreast of modern scholarship and at the same time loyal to the Scriptures as the infallible Word of God.”

This statement reflects the underlying purpose of The New International Commentary on the New Testament. Begun in the late 1940s by an international team of New Testament scholars, the NICNT series has become recognized by pastors, students, and scholars alike as a critical yet orthodox commentary marked by solid biblical scholarship within the evangelical Protestant tradition.

While based on a thorough study of the Greek text, the commentary introductions and expositions contain a minimum of Greek references. The NICNT authors evaluate significant textual problems and take into account the most important exegetical literature. More technical aspects — such as grammatical, textual, and historical problems — are dealt with in footnotes, special notes, and appendixes.

Under the general editorship of three outstanding New Testament scholars — first Ned Stonehouse (Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia), then F. F. Bruce (University of Manchester, England), and now Gordon D. Fee (Regent College, Vancouver, British Columbia) — the NICNT series has continued to develop over the years. In order to keep the commentary “new” and conversant with contemporary scholarship, the NICNT volumes have been — and will be — revised or replaced as necessary.

The newer NICNT volumes in particular take into account the role of recent rhetorical and sociological inquiry in elucidating the meaning of the text, and they also exhibit concern for the theology and application of the text. As the NICNT series is ever brought up to date, it will continue to find ongoing usefulness as an established guide to the New Testament text.

  • The Gospel of Matthew–R. T. France (2007)
  • The Gospel of Mark–William L. Lane (1974)
  • The Gospel of Luke–Joel B. Green (1997)
  • The Gospel According to John–Leon Morris (1995) (out of print)
  • The Gospel of John–J. Ramsey Michaels (2010) (NICNT2)
  • The Book of the Acts–F. F. Bruce (1988)
  • The Epistle to the Romans–Douglas J. Moo (1988)
  • The First Epistle to the Corinthians–Gordon D. Fee (1987)
  • The Second Epistle to the Corinthians–Paul Barnett (1997)
  • The Epistle to the Galatians–Ronald Y. K. Fung (1996)
  • The Epistles to the Colossians, to Philemon, and to the Ephesians–F. F. Bruce (1984)
  • Paul's Letter to the Philippians–Gordon D. Fee (1995)
  • The First and Second Letters to the Thessalonians–Gordon D. Fee (2009)
  • The Letters to Timothy and Titus–Philip H. Towner (2006)
  • The Epistle to the Hebrews–F. F. Bruce (1997)
  • The Epistle to the Hebrews–Gareth Lee Cockerill (2012) (added August 2011)
  • The Epistle of James–James B. Adamson (1994) (out of print)
  • The Letter of James–Scot McKnight (2011) (NICNT2)
  • The First Epistle of Peter–Peter H. Davids (1990)
  • The Epistles of John–I. Howard Marshall (1978)
  • The Book of Revelation–Robert H. Mounce (1997)

This series has a print value over $1100, our regular price is only $639!  Order NICNT and Easy Install this series today. Individual NT volumes are also available.

The New International Commentary on the Old Testament (set of 23 volumes). General Editors: R. K. Harrison, Robert L. Hubbard Jr.


“In the Old Testament we read God’s word as it was spoken to his people Israel. Today, thousands of years later, we hear in these thirty-nine books his inspired and authoritative message for us.”

These twin convictions, shared by all of the contributors to The New International Commentary on the Old Testament, define the goal of this ambitious series of commentaries. For those many modern readers who find the Old Testament to be strange and foreign soil, the NICOT series serves as an authoritative guide bridging the cultural gap between today’s world and the world of ancient Israel. Each NICOT volume aims to help us hear God’s word as clearly as possible.

Scholars, pastors, and serious Bible students will welcome the fresh light that this commentary series casts on ancient yet familiar biblical texts. The contributors apply their proven scholarly expertise and wide experience as teachers to illumine our understanding of the Old Testament. As gifted writers, they present the results of the best recent research in an interesting manner.

Each commentary opens with an introduction to the biblical book, looking especially at questions concerning its background, authorship, date, purpose, structure, and theology. A select bibliography also points readers to resources for their own study. The author’s own translation from the original Hebrew forms the basis of the commentary proper. Verse-by-verse comments nicely balance in-depth discussions of technical matters — textual criticism, critical problems, and so on — with exposition of the biblical writer’s theology and its implications for the life of faith today.

  • The Book of Genesis, Chapters 1–17–Victor P. Hamilton (1990)
  • The Book of Genesis, Chapters 18–50–Victor P. Hamilton (1995)
  • The Book of Leviticus–Gordon J. Wenham (1979)
  • The Book of Numbers–Timothy Ashley (1993)
  • The Book of Deuteronomy–Peter C. Craigie (1976)
  • The Book of Joshua–Marten Woudstra (1981)
  • The Book of Ruth–Robert L. Hubbard, Jr. (1989)
  • The First Book of Samuel–David Toshio Tsumura (2007)
  • The Books of Ezra and Nehemiah–F. Charles Fensham (1983)
  • The Book of Job–John E. Hartley (1988)
  • The Book of Proverbs, Chapters 1–15–Bruce K. Waltke (2004)
  • The Book of Proverbs, Chapters 15–31–Bruce K. Waltke (2005)
  • The Book of Ecclesiastes–Tremper Longman III (1997)
  • Song of Songs–Tremper Longman III (2001)
  • The Book of Isaiah, Chapters 1–39–John N. Oswalt (1996)
  • The Book of Isaiah, Chapters 40–66–John N. Oswalt (1997)
  • The Book of Jeremiah–J.A. Thompson (1980)
  • The Book of Ezekiel, Chapters 1–24–Daniel Block (1997)
  • The Book of Ezekiel, Chapters 25–48–Daniel Block (1998)
  • The Book of Hosea–J. Andrew Dearman (2010)
  • The Books of Joel, Obadiah, Jonah, and Micah–Leslie C. Allen (1976)
  • The Books of Nahum, Habakkuk, and Zephaniah–O. Palmer Robertson (1990)
  • The Books of Haggai and Malachi–Pieter A. Verhoef (1987)
NICOT now available, 23-volume set for only $699 (print value over $1100). Individual OT volumes are also available.

Article updated March 2014 to add additional volumes.

| Bookmark and Share