Jump to content


Photo

GoTo box in Outlines module


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:38 PM

I have the Outlines module open in Accordance 10.4.1 If I type "Joh" into the GoTo box, it correctly jumps to John. If I type in "John", it incorrectly jumps to Jonah. I could have reported a correction but wasn't sure if this reflected a module issue or app issue. 


2012 non-retina Macbook Pro
OS 10.11.5 El Capitan


#2 Ken Simpson

Ken Simpson

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Interests:My grandson Micah!
    Astronomy
    Archaeology
    Physics
    Hebrew and Greek
    Papyrology
    Orthopædic Surgery
    Sierra 10.12.2
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 04:15 PM

Hmmm, there's something up here Jonathan, it works fine on my install. Joh takes me to John and John leaves me there.

 

Maybe a screenshot?


Regards
Ken
Lead Australian Accordance Demonstrator
Administrator, Accordance Exchange
Assistant Minister, Summer Hill Church


#3 דָנִיאֶל

דָנִיאֶל

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 19 April 2014 - 05:18 PM

I can repro. this, if the GoTo box is the one in the bottom right with the big L next to it. It doesn't look quite the same as in texts where its unlabelled. If you go to John (say by entering Joh) and then type John it stays there.

If you start (just after opening the tool) by typing John you get Jonah. If you go to Micah and then type John you go to Jonah.

 

Thx

D


Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua

ἡ μόνη ἀγαθὴ γλῶσσα γλῶσσα νεκρὰ ἐστιν

lišanu ēdēnitu damqitu lišanu mītu

 

"Du stammst vom Herrn Adam und der Herrin Eva ab", sagte Aslan. "Und das ist zugleich Ehre genug, um das Häupt des ärmsten Bettlers zu erheben, und genug, um die Schultern des größten Kaisers auf Erden zu beugen. Sei zufrieden." Aslan, Die Chroniken von Narnia, Prinz Kaspian von Narnia. CS Lewis. Übersetzt von Wolfgang Holbein und Christian Rendel.

 

Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : MSI GE72 7RE Apache Pro laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i7 Kabylake
      12GB RAM                                16GB RAM
      Accordance 11.2.4 and 12                Accordance 12
      OSX 10.11 (Yosemite)                    Win 10 Home x64


#4 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 08:57 PM

Posting a screenshot wouldn't really help. After I type "John" and hit enter, the GoTo box then correctly indicates that the module has jumped to Jonah. I just tried the same thing with 1 John and similarly strange results. Entering "1Joh" took me to 1 John. Entering "1John" took me to 1Kings 10:1-13. Entering "1 John" took me to 1Chronicles 10:1-14. If anyone has an explanation for this, I'd love to hear it.


2012 non-retina Macbook Pro
OS 10.11.5 El Capitan


#5 Ken Simpson

Ken Simpson

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Interests:My grandson Micah!
    Astronomy
    Archaeology
    Physics
    Hebrew and Greek
    Papyrology
    Orthopædic Surgery
    Sierra 10.12.2
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 11:30 PM

Tried again this morning, still can't repro.


Regards
Ken
Lead Australian Accordance Demonstrator
Administrator, Accordance Exchange
Assistant Minister, Summer Hill Church


#6 דָנִיאֶל

דָנִיאֶל

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 19 April 2014 - 11:50 PM

I tried a couple more tests - I can repro. Jonathan's additional cases.

It happens on both Mac and Windows.

I checked the module version - I'm on 1.9. I removed it and reinstalled it - still 1.9 - still happens.

Ken is there any chance you have a different version of the module ?

 

Thx

D


Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua

ἡ μόνη ἀγαθὴ γλῶσσα γλῶσσα νεκρὰ ἐστιν

lišanu ēdēnitu damqitu lišanu mītu

 

"Du stammst vom Herrn Adam und der Herrin Eva ab", sagte Aslan. "Und das ist zugleich Ehre genug, um das Häupt des ärmsten Bettlers zu erheben, und genug, um die Schultern des größten Kaisers auf Erden zu beugen. Sei zufrieden." Aslan, Die Chroniken von Narnia, Prinz Kaspian von Narnia. CS Lewis. Übersetzt von Wolfgang Holbein und Christian Rendel.

 

Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : MSI GE72 7RE Apache Pro laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i7 Kabylake
      12GB RAM                                16GB RAM
      Accordance 11.2.4 and 12                Accordance 12
      OSX 10.11 (Yosemite)                    Win 10 Home x64


#7 Ken Simpson

Ken Simpson

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia
  • Interests:My grandson Micah!
    Astronomy
    Archaeology
    Physics
    Hebrew and Greek
    Papyrology
    Orthopædic Surgery
    Sierra 10.12.2
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 20 April 2014 - 08:01 AM

Hi Daniel and Jonathan,

Nup, i'm using 1.9, but the bug afflicted me tonight! Go figure. 

 

Looks to me like a module issue, but i don't know anything. Rick?


Regards
Ken
Lead Australian Accordance Demonstrator
Administrator, Accordance Exchange
Assistant Minister, Summer Hill Church


#8 Julie Palmer

Julie Palmer

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 438 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Box Springs, GA
  • Interests:Camping, Hiking, Canoeing, Geocaching
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X

Posted 20 April 2014 - 08:06 AM

I can confirm. "Mark" goes to Matthew; "Acts" goes to Amos; "Luke" goes to Malachi; "1 sam" goes to 1Chronicles 10:1-14.....



#9 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 23 April 2014 - 07:47 AM

This is looking like an app issue, not a module issue. The same thing happens with NET notes and various commentaries, as well as a user tool I made listing my preferred commentaries organized by Biblical book. And when it jumps to the wrong book, it often jumps to chapter 10. So there are some patterns.


2012 non-retina Macbook Pro
OS 10.11.5 El Capitan


#10 Joe

Joe

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Union, WV
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 23 April 2014 - 02:53 PM

I am also encountering this issue. I'm on OS X 10.9.2.



#11 Brent Lawrence

Brent Lawrence

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Skokie, IL
  • Interests:Jesus, my wife, my kids, my church, the Boston Red Sox, baseball in general, my Macs, golf (when I have time to play).
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 24 April 2014 - 05:50 AM

This is looking like an app issue, not a module issue. The same thing happens with NET notes and various commentaries, as well as a user tool I made listing my preferred commentaries organized by Biblical book. And when it jumps to the wrong book, it often jumps to chapter 10. So there are some patterns.

 

I'm seeing this too, pretty much in any reference tool I open. 



#12 Steve Carruth

Steve Carruth

    Silver

  • Accordance
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 24 April 2014 - 06:20 AM

I'm seeing this problem as well.


Running Accordance Version: 12.1.3 
on:
 
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)

Processor 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory  16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics  Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB

Software  OS 10.12.5

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users