Jump to content


Photo

Navigation Bar


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Randy Steffens Jr

Randy Steffens Jr

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 08:48 PM

I have a question about the navigation bar.  Normally if I'm reading through a chapter in the Bible and want to go to a certain verse, I will tab to the "go-to" box, and enter the chapter number followed by the verse number, like 19:22.

 

My question: is there a shortcut so that I can skip to a specific verse via the go-to box, without having to enter the chapter number first?  It would be really convenient if I could enter something like :22 or .22, and in the example above, accordance would know that this meant "go to verse 22 of the current chapter".  Maybe there is already a way to do this?

 

Thanks!

 

Randy

 

 



#2 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 952 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 08:52 PM

I don't know of a specific shortcut. I use the right arrow to place the cursor at the end, then delete the verse number and enter the one I want. It's not quite as quick as what you suggested, but it works.


2012 non-retina Macbook Pro
OS 10.11.5 El Capitan


#3 Randy Steffens Jr

Randy Steffens Jr

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:17 PM

Thanks Jonathan.  Yes that works, although not a speedy as would be nice.

 

Perhaps if some of the accordance staff read this, you could consider adding such a feature to a future update.  I would find it quite useful.  

 

Blessings!

Randy



#4 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 25 April 2014 - 03:30 PM

Accordance 10.4.2 is currently in testing and now includes this capability, using the syntax ":22" or ".3".  That is, a verse number preceded by a colon or period.


Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#5 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 25 April 2014 - 04:12 PM

Wow! That's service.

 

Does this mean our programmers have the gift of prophecy, able to foresee user requests before they are made? ;)


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

Academic Licensing Assistant

 

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD,  AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.12

MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD  + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.12

iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 10.2


#6 Martin Zhang

Martin Zhang

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 26 April 2014 - 08:09 PM

Accordance 10.4.2 is currently in testing and now includes this capability, using the syntax ":22" or ".3".  That is, a verse number preceded by a colon or period.


Is it possible to use the "space key" as a third option besides ":" and "."?

Martin

Accordance v.12

MacOS Sierra

iPad iOS 10

Win10 Pro

Accordance tutorials in Chinese.


#7 Randy Steffens Jr

Randy Steffens Jr

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 27 April 2014 - 06:18 AM

Wow this is really fantastic!!  Talk about customer service! Thanks so much!

 

That's also a neat idea Martin -- could also be handy.

 

Thanks,

Randy



#8 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 28 April 2014 - 09:10 AM

For now we don't plan to support a space before the number (e.g. " 6") because it can be difficult to see visually or accidentally entered, while a colon, period (or comma if using european settings) are more visible and deliberate, but just as easy to type.


Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#9 Martin Zhang

Martin Zhang

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 28 April 2014 - 10:15 AM

For now we don't plan to support a space before the number (e.g. " 6") because it can be difficult to see visually or accidentally entered, while a colon, period (or comma if using european settings) are more visible and deliberate, but just as easy to type.

 

Maybe I'm to used to BibleWorks.

In BibleWorks, when I type "gen 1 3" or "gen 1:3" or "gen 1.3", it goes to Gen 1:3.

If I am already in Gensis. I can type "1 3" or "1:3" or "1.3" to go to Gen 1:3.

If I am already in Gen 1. I can type just "3" to go to Gen 1:3.

 

I use the space key most often. I guess that's because the thumb is swift than the ring finger. And since I was used to BibleWorks, it is very natural for me to put a space between the chapter and verse numbers, which everytime brings up a popup like below, which is very annoying...Is it possible for users to assign the funtion to the space as an alternative option (you may still set "1:3" and "1.3" as the default?

 

Attached File  1.png   29.79KB   0 downloads


Martin

Accordance v.12

MacOS Sierra

iPad iOS 10

Win10 Pro

Accordance tutorials in Chinese.


#10 Randy Steffens Jr

Randy Steffens Jr

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 14 July 2014 - 04:58 AM

This feature is broken. I can no longer type . or : into the navigation bar and get a verse within the current chapter.

 

Any others realize this?

 

Randy


Edited by Randy Steffens Jr, 14 July 2014 - 05:00 AM.


#11 דָנִיאֶל

דָנִיאֶל

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:36 AM

I can type a . followed by a number but this is interpreted as a chapter number. Putting in :xx I get an error message : "There are characters which are unexpected or in the wrong position as shown in the selection." And the colon is highlighted.

 

Thx

D


Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua

ἡ μόνη ἀγαθὴ γλῶσσα γλῶσσα νεκρὰ ἐστιν

lišanu ēdēnitu damqitu lišanu mītu

 

"Du stammst vom Herrn Adam und der Herrin Eva ab", sagte Aslan. "Und das ist zugleich Ehre genug, um das Häupt des ärmsten Bettlers zu erheben, und genug, um die Schultern des größten Kaisers auf Erden zu beugen. Sei zufrieden." Aslan, Die Chroniken von Narnia, Prinz Kaspian von Narnia. CS Lewis. Übersetzt von Wolfgang Holbein und Christian Rendel.

 

Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : HP 4540s laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i5 Ivy Bridge
      12GB RAM                                8GB RAM
      Accordance 11.2.4 and 12                Accordance 11.1.6 and 12
      OSX 10.11 (Yosemite)                    Win 10 Professional x64


#12 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 14 July 2014 - 10:55 AM

This feature is broken. I can no longer type . or : into the navigation bar and get a verse within the current chapter.

 

Any others realize this?

 

Randy

It does not work for me in 10.4.3


Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#13 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 14 July 2014 - 11:33 AM

It seems like something in 10.4.3 broke this.  Many apologies, but we'll get this fixed ASAP.


Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users