Help me understand this

davidmedina

Once in a while while using Accordance I become a little frustrated with how the software is designed to work, specifically the tags. It feels like it is assuming that I have enough Biblical knowledge to know what it behaves like it does. And because I don't have that knowledge that seems to require I find myself jumping around trying to find what I am looking for and becoming frustrated wondering if I am getting the right answers.

So I need help understanding the following.

I am studying 1 Peter. I am looking at 1 Peter 1:1-2. I am trying to dig a bit on certain words. For example, "elect" (eklektos).

The first thing I did was to see where else that word is used. So I did a search for the word using the NKJV. I got 20 hits and it shows it in 1 Peter 1:2. And because I mainly use the ESV I remember that the ESV has it in 1 Peter 1:1. No problem. I was aware of that because I read and compared it in other translations.

But here is where the problems come and has to do with the Instant Display information and how, to me, it feels like inconsistencies that confuses me and limits me as to what Bible I can choose as my main study Bible.

I am using all tagged Bibles.

If I open 1 peter 1:1-2 in the ESVS and hover over the word "elect" on 1 Peter 1:1 I get the corresponding ID information fine.

Now, If I open 1 peter 1:1-2 in the NRSVS and hover over the word "elect" render chosen on the NRSV which is now on 1 Peter 1:2 I get NOTHING on the NRSV.

If I use the KJVS or the NKJVS (Elect is on 1:2) I only get the Greek word and strong number but nothing else.

If I use Mounce (Elect is on 1:2) I get nothing at all.

In the NASBS, NIVS or the HCSB I get all the information.