Jump to content


Photo

Yosemite Install Experience


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 Julia Falling

Julia Falling

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,669 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 17 October 2014 - 10:35 PM

Well, $800 (New Egg) is much less expensive than $2499. 

 

Cheaper from Amazon.  And even cheaper if you have Amazon Prime.


Julia Falling

13" MacBook Pro Catalina Accordance 13
mid-2017 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7 (2 cores)
16 GB RAM;
512 GB SSD

iPad Pro (11" 2020 release) iPadOS 13
128 GB
iAccord 3

iPhone 11 iOS 13
128 GB
iAccord 3


Used for backup only:
Mac mini Catalina Accordance 13
late-2012 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 (4 cores)
16 GB RAM; 1.12 TB Fusion Drive


#22 Daniel Francis

Daniel Francis

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alberta, Canada
  • Interests:Contemplative prayer, ecological stewardship, science-fiction, and cat herding are some of my interests.
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 17 October 2014 - 11:15 PM

 Before = 121 G; after = 213 G.  That is a gain of 92 GB!  Haven't yet noticed any loss of data and everything seems to be working.  Today will tell.

 

 

Wish i was that lucky I went from 13 free to 21... a nice savings but not too big.

 

-Dan



#23 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,102 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek, Hebrew (trying again...)
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 18 October 2014 - 07:07 AM

I'm holding off on Yosemite until a couple of mission-critical apps have fixed known bugs.


  • Daniel Francis and Peter Brylov Christensen like this

2020 Macbook Air
OS 10.15.5 Catalina


#24 Peter Brylov Christensen

Peter Brylov Christensen

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Interests:Old Testament Exegesis, The Ancient Near East, the Hamito-Semitic languages, Ancient Greek, Mythology
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X

Posted 18 October 2014 - 11:18 AM

I'm holding off on Yosemite until a couple of mission-critical apps have fixed known bugs.

 

Same here - I'm currently writing on my Master's thesis, so I cannot afford any setbacks.


Accordance Version: 11.0.8
Hardware: MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 (medio 2012)
Operating System: OSX 10.9.5 Mavericks.

#25 Abram K-J

Abram K-J

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greater Boston, MA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 18 October 2014 - 02:57 PM

Me, too. Downloading iOS 8 right away taught me that lesson!


Abram K-J
Pastor, Writer, Editor, Blogger
Web: Words on the Word

#26 Fabian

Fabian

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,606 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 18 October 2014 - 04:34 PM

Yeah and I learn this right at the moment :(


Greetings

Fabian

ATTENTION: My bug reports are all with the GERMAN INTERFACE and with the EUROPEAN NOTATION! It can be the English interface has no bugs, I describe.

PLEASE!
Bring more international Bibles to the store,
fix my reported bugs, even the old ones which never was addressed,
develop my feature requests, the new once and the once I made years ago,
in nearer future.

#27 ulipde

ulipde

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Accordance Version:Non-user

Posted 27 October 2014 - 04:01 PM

Regarding the excellent 24" UP2414Q Dell ...

 

I've been using this monitor for a few days with an Macbook Pro 13 Retina late 2012 and it was a great experience with Mavericks. Just upgraded to Yosemite and all the fine HiDPI resolution vanished. What a frustration. Didn't find any hint how to fix. Will downgrade for now.

 

Had been working for 2 years with the builtin display only because I couldn't suffer the low resolution of my old 1920 x 1080 LCD display.

 

Does anyone have another idea? 


Edited by ulipde, 27 October 2014 - 04:06 PM.


#28 Nathan Parker

Nathan Parker

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 601 posts
  • Twitter:@theparkernathan
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hot Springs, Arkansas
  • Interests:Bible software, photography, technology, Theology, weather
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 27 October 2014 - 08:33 PM

 

Do I remember correctly that an iMac can be used strictly as a monitor? $2499 for 5K monitor is cheaper than the 4K Sharp monitor that Apple sells in their store.

 

Yeah, it's correct and unfortunate that the iMac 5K can't be used strictly as a monitor. Dr. J's suggestion would have been great if it could!


Yes, it is.

 

BTW, i just priced a maxed out iMac on the Apple store. Would you believe $4500?

 

I'm debating on whether my next desktop Mac should be iMac 5K or Mac Pro. Neither are cheap (and I'm not buying either now). I will be getting into weekly HD video editing in Final Cut down the road, so that's the one thing leaning me toward Mac Pro (that and I have a 27" monitor sitting on my desk).


Nathan Parker


#29 craigminah

craigminah

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows, iOS

Posted 16 November 2014 - 10:18 PM

 

Do I remember correctly that an iMac can be used strictly as a monitor? $2499 for 5K monitor is cheaper than the 4K Sharp monitor that Apple sells in their store.

Unfortunately, Apple techs said the iMac cannot be used as an external monitor...I think it's due to it pushing more pixels than the interface allows so they overclocked the interface or did something unique.



#30 Julia Falling

Julia Falling

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,669 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee
  • Interests:Numerous!
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 17 November 2014 - 07:13 AM

I just got an early Christmas present – a Dell U2713HM.  Beautiful screen. 2560 x 1440 resolution – the max my Air will support.  Built in USB-3 hub (1 upstream, 4 downstream).  It's connected to my 13" MacBook Air.  Only one problem, and easily fixed once you figure it out.

 

When we first got it set up, all peripherals were recognized – the Time Machine disk, iPhone or iPad, ethernet.  But then it seems that all the ports went dead.  Not even a thumb drive was seen.  Searched the web. The only hint I found had to do with power.  My husband suggested plugging a powered USB hub into the Air, and the display-to-Mac USB cable into the powered hub.  That solved the problem.  (Unfortunately, the solution was discovered a little late.  I'm using a replacement monitor sent by Amazon.  We had concluded that the first was defective.  It probably wasn't, but the model could use more power to those ports.)

 

To get the maximum resolution, the display port connection must be used – the cable was cheap off Amazon ($9.99).  Neither HDMI nor VGA will yield the maximum 2560 x 1440.


Julia Falling

13" MacBook Pro Catalina Accordance 13
mid-2017 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7 (2 cores)
16 GB RAM;
512 GB SSD

iPad Pro (11" 2020 release) iPadOS 13
128 GB
iAccord 3

iPhone 11 iOS 13
128 GB
iAccord 3


Used for backup only:
Mac mini Catalina Accordance 13
late-2012 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 (4 cores)
16 GB RAM; 1.12 TB Fusion Drive





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users