22 replies to this topic

#1 countach

countach

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 09 June 2007 - 07:30 AM

What is the difference between the VULG and VULGATE modules?

#2 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

Emerald

• Admin
  • 11,587 posts
  • Twitter:accordancebible
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS, Android

Posted 09 June 2007 - 08:25 AM

Good question! I am no expert on the Vulgate, but I will give you the official information on the texts.

The VULG is our original module:

Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam (The Latin Vulgate)
Biblia Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam, 4th revised edition. Edited by Robert Weber.
Copyright © 1969, 1983, 1994 by Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, Stuttgart.

It includes VULG2 with the alternative versions of Esther and Psalms.

The two modules included in the Catholic Collection CD-ROM are:

VULGATE:
Clementine Vulgate (Traditional)
Public Domain
Downloaded from http://vulsearch.sourceforge.net
See “VULGATE Preface” file for more information.

and

VULG-N:
Nova Vulgata (New Vulgate)
©1998 Libreria Editrice Vatican, Vatican City
Used by permission of Amministrazione del Patrimonio Della Sede Apostlica, Vatican City

As far as I know, neither of these has the alternative versions of Esther and Psalms.
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#3 Joe Weaks

Joe Weaks

Platinum

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,327 posts
  • Interests:I like things that are Orange, and possibly Blue.
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 09 June 2007 - 05:21 PM

Interesting to post regarding the Latin Vulgate in the "Original Languages" forum.
Joe Weaks
The Macintosh Biblioblog

Sometimes I'm so helpful even I can't stand it.

#4 countach

countach

Silver

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 09 June 2007 - 11:05 PM