Colors, Fonts and Leading

Rick Yentzer

My wish list for Accordance:

1. Use of the Apple color picker instead of the predefined color choices.

I simply do not like the color choices. What can I say, I'm a designer!

2. The ability to change the color of the background via the Apple color picker.

See my response to a post on this

3. The ability to change the leading of a font. Leading is the space between lines of text. Some fonts have different line heights and their default height is not always conducive to easy readability. This may seem like I'm being picky, okay, I am. But it is because Accordance is highly respectable in the content it offers, in the format it offers. I'm simply trying to improve the product.

While the 3 are related the first two are highly desirable for me. As Accordance now stands, I have this wealth of info that is hard to read because the screen is too contrastive to use for extended periods. :(

I just came across an online bible that has excellent readibility via color choices and leading. Have a look at the pic.

http://www.forbenmedia.com/online/readibilitySample.png

Which do find the easiest to read???

Rick,

Your comparison seems a little lame since the chief factor contributing to readability is spacing between paragraphs, which you oddly left out of Accordance. And you can control leading by changing what font you use in the first place.

Background color would be nice, and I wouldn't think should be that hard to implement.

Joe

Your comparison seems a little lame since the chief factor contributing to readability is spacing between paragraphs, which you oddly left out of Accordance.

Fair enough. I changed to paragraph spacing and took another screenshot comparing true apples to apples.

And you can control leading by changing what font you use in the first place.