Jump to content


Photo

Odd addition on Mac Login Screen


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:12 PM

I'm hoping some of you might recognize this and tell me what to do or if I need to fix it. 

 

A few weeks ago, I needed to wipe and restore my MacBook. When I did, in addition to my login account, there's a second option that simply says "Disk Password." It was not there before, and I've never seen it before. 

 

Anyone know what this is and whether I need to do anything about it? 

 

See attached.

 

Attached File  IMG_0041.JPG   42.5KB   0 downloads


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

OS X

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, El Capitan/OS X Server

2015 12" MacBook - 1.3 Ghz Core M, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x


#2 Alistair

Alistair

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:21 PM

1) Where's your nearest Apple store & genius bar?

2) Did you ever password protect the firmware?

3) Can you log in to your normal account?

4) Where's your nearest Apple store & genius bar?


5) Did you do a full, clean install?



#3 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:26 PM

I could go to the local Apple Store, but I thought I'd check in here first to see if anyone knew off the top of his or her head what this is. If no one knows, I'll post to the Apple support forums before I take it into a store. 

 

It's not causing any problems and I can log in just fine. I do have the drive encrypted, but had it encrypted before, too, so I don't know why the icon would suddenly show up. 

 

To answer your last question, I wiped the drive and restored from a Time Machine backup. But again, the drive icon wasn't there before. 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

OS X

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, El Capitan/OS X Server

2015 12" MacBook - 1.3 Ghz Core M, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x


#4 Abram K-J

Abram K-J

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greater Boston, MA
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:30 PM

Ah, these Apple products... they work great when they work!


Abram K-J
Pastor, Writer, Editor, Blogger
Web: Words on the Word


#5 דָנִיאֶל

דָנִיאֶל

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:30 PM

Rick, it looks like disk encryption support. I don't have it turned on my Mac but I use something similar on one of my PCs. Do you actually have to enter a password to get to your data or can you just log in normally and work ? Is FileVault turned on ? What version of OSX is it ? There are posts about FileVault not proxying creds through properly leading to multiple logons : something like this https://www.macissue...ts-on-your-mac/

 

Thx

D


Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua

ἡ μόνη ἀγαθὴ γλῶσσα γλῶσσα νεκρὰ ἐστιν

lišanu ēdēnitu damqitu lišanu mītu

 

Accordance Configurations :
 
Mac : 2009 27" iMac                 Windows : HP 4540s laptop
      Intel Core Duo                          Intel i5 Ivy Bridge
      12GB RAM                                8GB RAM
      Accordance 11.1.5                       Accordance 11.1.5
      OSX 10.10.5 (Yosemite)                  Win 7 Professional x64 SP1


#6 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:34 PM

I do have the drive encrypted and FileVault is turned on. But this was the case before, too. This showed up in El Capitan, and it's still present in Sierra. I do have to log in before I can see my desktop, but it's always been that way. 

 

It's not a huge deal and has not cause any issues so far that I know of. I happened to think about it today while grabbing a late lunch and thought I'd post here to see if anyone knows.

 

I plan on replacing this MacBook as soon as the new MacBook Pros are released, hopefully in October. 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

OS X

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, El Capitan/OS X Server

2015 12" MacBook - 1.3 Ghz Core M, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x


#7 Alistair

Alistair

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:36 PM

If it was me I would try running Onyx and maybe do another install of the OS. Then maybe a more selective restoration of data from your backup, not just letting it do its thing in one fell swoop. I suspect that you have your new clean User account and your old (still encrypted) User account alongside.

 

I've only just today decided to give up on TimeMachine and go back to using CarbonCopyCloner to do backups. I think that any backup method you just set up and forget about is bound to go wrong when you need it. I prefer to do deliberate manual backups to multiple external drives. I have a 3TB HDD and a 3TB external HDD for backup, and TimeMachine was constantly telling me (after 40 minutes of thinking about it) that I had no room for further backups. What happened to TimeMachine's touted ability to delete older backups as the target disk fills up? Meh. And it takes forever. Anyway goodbye TimeMachine and hello again CCC.


Edited by Alistair, 21 September 2016 - 01:36 PM.


#8 Mike Thigpen

Mike Thigpen

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Louisville, KY
  • Interests:Old Testament, Hebrew, ANE History, etc.
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:39 PM

Rick,

 

I think this showed up with El Capitan so that if you had multiple users on a machine you could have a separate disk password for FileVault protections.  The message boards have a lot of queries related to this and the consistent item is having file vault encryption turned on.  

 

Mike



#9 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:42 PM

I think this showed up with El Capitan so that if you had multiple users on a machine you could have a separate disk password for FileVault protections.  The message boards have a lot of queries related to this and the consistent item is having file vault encryption turned on.  

 

That may be it. I was thinking it showed up when I restored the machine, but maybe it was soon after because I did set up a separate account (now deleted) for Accordance testing purposes. So, I guess this doesn't harm anything? 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

OS X

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, El Capitan/OS X Server

2015 12" MacBook - 1.3 Ghz Core M, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 10.x


#10 Mike Thigpen

Mike Thigpen

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Louisville, KY
  • Interests:Old Testament, Hebrew, ANE History, etc.
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 21 September 2016 - 01:50 PM

None of the boards I read mentioned any issues, beyond curiosity, when it started happening. 


Edited by Mike Thigpen, 21 September 2016 - 01:50 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users