Problems with Searching for the Polel forms of Hollow Roots

theblackbluejay

Hello everyone, 

I am trying to find all of the attestations of hollow verbs in the D stem (Polel).  I am separating the roots that only occur once in the Polel from those that occur more than once, and charting each group separately.  But Accordance seems to be giving me conflicting information.  I have done a search for verbs in the Polel, and on my bar graph I learn that, for example, the roots נוב ,נופ, and נוס occur once in this form, and a search for each of these roots in the Polel form shows only one hit.  So all should be well.   However, the concordance clearly shows that these roots occur in the Polel more than once.   And a search for the verse references in the concordance bears this out.  

I fully admit that I am not an expert at Accordance searching.   I going about my searching incorrectly?  If so, how can I ensure that I am searching correctly in order to receive the correct data (If my default analytics did not show the concordance, I would have done a lot of work before realizing that I had made a mistake).  If not, can someone please tell me why Accordance is giving these conflicting data.  

Thanks!

David

post-32209-0-30406700-1487769043_thumb.pngpost-32209-0-28291300-1487769050_thumb.pngpost-32209-0-88054000-1487769056_thumb.pngpost-32209-0-38970700-1487769062_thumb.png

Edited by David Harris

The bar chart and the concordance are displaying two different types of data. The bar chart is the correct filtered information of [Verb Polel] that you are looking for. The concordance is displaying all occurrences of each HIT from your search. If you want to see the filtered occurrences, then you can shift-click the bar chart. Then, if you are wanting to save that data, I would highlight all the verses and Copy As>References.