How to search for πετρος when it is the speaker?

Joe Weaks

Is this something the Syntax module is suited for?

I want to find all the places a name/noun is designated as the speaker of some speech.

Places like, "And Peter replied,…"

I don't know the Syntax usage at all.

This is the best I can guess in a simple text search:

Πέτρος@[SUBJECT] <AND> λέγω@[PREDICATE]

which seems pretty lame and limited.

Are there tags for words that indicate this is a speaker?
Do I need to do a complex search for this?

This is my first attempt at putting together a Complex Search. There a better way?

post-16-0-47700200-1491338776_thumb.png

Edited by Joe Weaks

Sorry to have designed a lame and limited tool (ahem), but our syntactic database was tightly designed for syntactic relationships. "Speaker" is not a syntactic role, but a pragmatic/discourse role. 

Perhaps someday we will include additional layers of information, but most of the additional layers move into ever increasing subjectivity, which I intentionally set up the syntax project to avoid (as best as possible).

The initial search you set up would get positive hits, but clearly not all of them since there are other verbs introducing speech (ok, that's a flat out guess since I've forgotten most of my Greek; there are multiple speech verb in Hebrew, though). What you may want to do is identify Peter=Subject, Predicate = Verb, and Complement Clause = direct speech (that is an option we did create).

Below is how I built your search for Hebrew using Yhwh as the subject of a clause with a direct speech complement. Flip it all and try it in Greek.

* edit: btw, my first comment should be read humorously ...*

post-29948-0-58299300-1491345476_thumb.png

Edited by Robert Holmstedt
  • Like 1

I recreated your search for my GNT search.

post-16-0-52761800-1491365702_thumb.png

This is inadequate, missing several hits. Some of those details are causing hits to be missed.