Sync with iCloud Drive instead of Dropbox?

Rick

Has there been any discussion of adding support for syncing User Files via iCloud Drive instead of Dropbox? 

Dropbox is a memory hog, and I'm extremely cautious when apps that request unnecessary security privileges (see here). Since iCloud is built into the OS, it seems like a natural option.

• Like 2

Accordance is a native Dropbox client so there is no actual need to install the macOS Finder client in order to use Dropbox for user content syncing.

• 1 year later...

I am new to Accordance, and I am interested in using iCloud Drive instead of Dropbox.  Two related issues are raised below.

I have Accordance 12.3.1 on both an iMac and a MacBook Pro, both of which have MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6.

First, why is there is a problem using iCloud Drive instead of Dropbox?  My "Accordance Files" folder is in my Documents folder, which is configured to be stored in iCloud Drive.  When I switch between my iMac and my MacBook Pro, I find that the files in the sub-folders Stacks, User Notes, Papers, Highlights, etc., are the same as they were on the other system.  Isn't this accomplishing the same thing that is done by syncing to Dropbox?  For example, I can open my Notes on either MacOS system and find that they are the same.

Second, I would like to arrange it so that when I start Accordance on either system, it would start up with the same resources open that I had open when I left the other system, but I don't know if that's possible.  Any comments on that?

Thanks.

Steve Westfall

• Like 3

Something to keep in mind ... Accordance is not an Apple only product anymore. So I would imagine using iCloud only would be problematic.

Of course, I am not a programmer or a part of the Accordance team.

Steve,