Jump to content


Photo

iOS mirroring via Quicktime on the Mac


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 10:45 AM

Can anyone confirm that iOS mirroring no longer works via Quicktime on the Mac using iOS 11 and High Sierra? 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#2 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:17 AM

I can confirm. Worked great under Sierra, but it didn't work for me with the High Sierra beta last time I tried.


I assumed it was an issue with the beta :-(



#3 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:26 AM

Thanks.

 

That was going to be my backup for today's webinar since I've had a few issues using Reflector earlier in the week. Fortunately, it seems to be behaving today.


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#4 _Ricardo_

_Ricardo_

    Member

  • Accordance
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 12:47 PM

The TeamViewer Quick Support app might help:

https://www.teamview...screen-sharing/

 

You would need TeamViewer on the computer to control the iOS device. I have not tested it on the iOS device. But it works fine with an Android.



#5 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 02:50 PM

Rick, it is working for me. QuickTime Player>New Movie Recording, then change the camera to iPhone (plugged in w/Lightning cable).

 

I do notice that the iPhone appears under Screen Recording also, but does not work.


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer
Academic Licensing Assistant

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13
MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13
iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x

#6 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 07:22 PM

That's the way I've done it for years, but it's absolutely not working now. 

 

Screen%20Shot%202017-10-20%20at%207.19.0


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#7 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 10:08 AM

Odd. Are you using a genuine Apple cable or a knock off?

 

I am running High Sierra (10.13) on a mid-2011 MBP and iOS 11.0.3 on an iPhone 7 plus. The latter is connected via a genuine Lighting cable directly to one of my USB ports. Try shutting down and rebooting, if nothing else works.

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-10-21 at 11.05.44 AM.png   470.21KB   0 downloads


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer
Academic Licensing Assistant

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13
MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13
iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x

#8 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 01:11 PM

Rick, It's working for me now too, when I choose "New Movie Recording". I'm using a lightning cable plugged in to my 27" Thunderbolt display. On both my iPhone 7 and iPad Air 2.



#9 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 08:16 PM

Genuine Apple USB-C to Lightning cable, 2016 MacBook Pro running High Sierra 10.13.1 Beta, and iPhone 7 Plus running iOS 11.1 beta.

 

Still no go. Everything has been restarted. 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#10 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 09:45 AM

I wonder if it is the 11.1 beta?


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer
Academic Licensing Assistant

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13
MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13
iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x

#11 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 09:52 AM

Could be the problem. I was using 11.0.3 on my iPhone.



#12 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 10:11 AM

Could be the problem. I was using 11.0.3 on my iPhone.

 

Do you happen to have 11.1 on an iPad that you could check? 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#13 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 12:07 PM

I only have an iPad mini 2. However, I could not record it with QuickTime running either 11.0.1 or 11.0.3. It also does not show up in Screenflow 7 as a recordable source, though my iPhone 7 plus does.


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer
Academic Licensing Assistant

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13
MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13
iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x

#14 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 12:20 PM

Just checked, neither my iPhone nor my iPad works. Before I had only tried with my iPad.


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#15 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 12:26 PM

It worked on my iPad Air 2 with 11.1 Developer beta 4.



#16 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 12:30 PM

It worked on my iPad Air 2 with 11.1 Developer beta 4.

 

Is that the one that's been released today?


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#17 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 12:44 PM

No, I'm installing that one now. The new one is Developer beta 5.



#18 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 01:31 PM

So it works for me with the latest release of the iOS and MacOS betas that came out today.


  • Timothy Jenney likes this

#19 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 3,031 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 23 October 2017 - 01:57 PM

But not for me. No idea why. Ok. Well, Reflector is working for me anyway. Quicktime is just backup.


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2017 iPhone X - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11.x

 

Android 

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD, Fire OS 5.6 (=Android OS 5.x)

2017 Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 - 128 GB, Android OS 7.0


#20 Fabian

Fabian

    Mithril

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,399 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 07 November 2017 - 04:36 PM

Maybe this helps? https://youtu.be/c2Koa__7jMM?t=253

 

Greetings

 

Fabian


  • Tony Lawrence likes this

Greetings

 

Fabian

 

ATTENTION: My bug reports are all with the GERMAN INTERFACE and with the EUROPEAN NOTATION! It can be the English interface has no bug, which I describe.

 

Mac Air (13-inch, Mid 2013)

1,3 GHz Intel Core i5

4GB Ram

Next time: I'll buy only one with SuperRetina OLED, and hopefully without a glossy screen. A faster CPU and more RAM.

 

macOS High Sierra 10.13.1

Accordance 12.1.5 and waiting on 13 (on iPad Pro with 3D touch)

 

iPhone X 256GB

iOS 11.1.1

Accordance Mobile 2.5.6.8946





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users