Jump to content


Photo

iOS mirroring via Quicktime on the Mac


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,859 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 10:45 AM

Can anyone confirm that iOS mirroring no longer works via Quicktime on the Mac using iOS 11 and High Sierra? 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

 

Android (internal beta)

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD


#2 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:17 AM

I can confirm. Worked great under Sierra, but it didn't work for me with the High Sierra beta last time I tried.


I assumed it was an issue with the beta :-(



#3 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,859 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:26 AM

Thanks.

 

That was going to be my backup for today's webinar since I've had a few issues using Reflector earlier in the week. Fortunately, it seems to be behaving today.


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

 

Android (internal beta)

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD


#4 _Ricardo_

_Ricardo_

    Member

  • Accordance
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 12:47 PM

The TeamViewer Quick Support app might help:

https://www.teamview...screen-sharing/

 

You would need TeamViewer on the computer to control the iOS device. I have not tested it on the iOS device. But it works fine with an Android.



#5 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 02:50 PM

Rick, it is working for me. QuickTime Player>New Movie Recording, then change the camera to iPhone (plugged in w/Lightning cable).

 

I do notice that the iPhone appears under Screen Recording also, but does not work.


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

Academic Licensing Assistant

 

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD,  AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13

MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD  + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13

iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x


#6 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,859 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 20 October 2017 - 07:22 PM

That's the way I've done it for years, but it's absolutely not working now. 

 

Screen%20Shot%202017-10-20%20at%207.19.0


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

 

Android (internal beta)

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD


#7 Timothy Jenney

Timothy Jenney

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sunny Winter Haven, FL
  • Interests:a great cup of coffee, sci-fi, jazz and the blues, kayaking, camping, fishing and the great outdoors
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 10:08 AM

Odd. Are you using a genuine Apple cable or a knock off?

 

I am running High Sierra (10.13) on a mid-2011 MBP and iOS 11.0.3 on an iPhone 7 plus. The latter is connected via a genuine Lighting cable directly to one of my USB ports. Try shutting down and rebooting, if nothing else works.

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-10-21 at 11.05.44 AM.png   470.21KB   0 downloads


Blessings,
"Dr. J"

Timothy P. Jenney, Ph. D.
"Lighting the Lamp" Host and Producer

Academic Licensing Assistant

 

iMac: Late 2014 27" 5k display, 4.0 GHz quad core i7, 24 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD,  AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB, macOS Sierra 10.13

MBP: Early 2011 17" MBP (8,3), 2.3 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 480 SSD  + 1 TB SSD, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, macOS Sierra 10.13

iPhone 7 plus: 128 GB, iOS 11.x


#8 Mark Allison

Mark Allison

    Platinum

  • Accordance
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Flowery Branch, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 01:11 PM

Rick, It's working for me now too, when I choose "New Movie Recording". I'm using a lightning cable plugged in to my 27" Thunderbolt display. On both my iPhone 7 and iPad Air 2.



#9 R. Mansfield

R. Mansfield

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,859 posts
  • Twitter:@thislamp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 21 October 2017 - 08:16 PM

Genuine Apple USB-C to Lightning cable, 2016 MacBook Pro running High Sierra 10.13.1 Beta, and iPhone 7 Plus running iOS 11.1 beta.

 

Still no go. Everything has been restarted. 


Rick Mansfield

Technology Evangelist

Accordance Bible Software

 

Gear for Running Accordance:

 

macOS

2014 Mac Mini - 2.6 Ghz dual core Intel Core i5, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, macOS Sierra/macOS Server

2016 15" MacBook Pro - 2.9 Ghz quad core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, macOS High Sierra

 

Windows

2014 15.6" Acer R7-572 - 1.6 Ghz Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB mSATA, 512 GB SSD, Windows 10

 

iOS

2016 iPhone 7 Plus - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

2016 iPad Pro (12.9") - 256 GB, Verizon, iOS 11

 

Android (internal beta)

2017 Amazon Fire HD 8 - 32 GB internal + 64 GB microSD





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users