Jump to content


Photo

Context Slider Not Applying when Tab is Tied


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jarcher

jarcher

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 17 November 2017 - 03:53 PM

This issue is a bit difficult to explain but I typically use a single "master" tab to select the main text I'm studying. Then, I use multiple other tied tabs for commentaries, syntax module, translator's notes, etc.

 

When I do this I have one tab for other "Translations". This tab contains several other translation panes. It is tied to my "master" tab.

 

If I enter a text into my master tab the "translation" tab updates according. However, I the context slider of the "translation" tab is ignored entirely.

 

For example, if I search 1Cor 12:1 in the "master" tab with the context slider set to 0 then go to the "translations" linked tab where the context slider is also set to 0, I still see all text.

 

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-11-17 at 2.52.04 PM.png   208.74KB   0 downloads

 

 

 

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2017-11-17 at 2.52.18 PM.png   535.09KB   0 downloads



#2 Helen Brown

Helen Brown

    Mithril

  • Admin
  • 10,671 posts
  • Twitter:accordancebible
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:heart in Israel
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 17 November 2017 - 10:27 PM

This is intentional. Context applies to the tab and all its panes, but not to other tabs even if tied. All tying does is scroll the other tabs to match the verse at the top of the scrolled tab.


  • jarcher likes this
Helen Brown
OakTree Software

#3 jarcher

jarcher

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 17 November 2017 - 10:54 PM

Thanks, Helen.



#4 jarcher

jarcher

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted Yesterday, 08:45 AM

Thinking about this more, should the context of the pane in question be different from the context slider that is on that pane (see picture 2 above). That, I think, is what is confusing to me. My expectation would be that the pane always observes the slider for for pane regardless of any ties to other panes.

Edited by jarcher, Yesterday, 08:46 AM.


#5 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 4,852 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted Today, 09:22 AM

Jeremy, the issue is a misunderstanding of Tie vs Contents.  In your Translations tab, you've specified a blank search, which means to display the entire text.  This is unrelated to the context slider, as you are already showing all text.  This is also unrelated to 'Tie', which means to scroll them to the same verse.  If you want to limit the results to what you are searching for in your Master tab, you should set the search to be [CONTENTS Master] instead of blank - then it will match exactly the verses displayed in Master.

 

Does this make sense?


  • jarcher and Solly like this
Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#6 Solly

Solly

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Pennsylvania, USA
  • Interests:Far too many for my own good! ;-)
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted Today, 12:11 PM

Thanks Joel--I learn something new every day. ;-)

 

Shalom,

 

Joseph


Joseph F Sollenberger Jr


#7 jarcher

jarcher

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted Today, 02:00 PM

Yep, that helps. In the back of mind I guess I always thought of a “tie” as a CONTENTS search. This makes much more sense! Thanks!

 

Edit: Actually, this is even more helpful than I realized as it also fixes a few other minor annoyances. This is part of why I love Accordance too! You've equipped us with so many tools in the toolbox it is pretty shocking how many things can be done.

 

Thanks!


Edited by jarcher, Today, 02:05 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users