Is Accordance future proof?

Rh0d1um

Hello,

I'm a Swiss Theology student at a seminary and I've owned Accordance for 4 years now. I use it mainly for language study, but recently I find myself thinking about investing more money into some commentary bundles (e.g. NICOT / NICNT bundles when they're on sale the next time).

However, I'm not really sure if Accordance (or any bible software for that matter) is enough "future proof" for the next decades. What will happen to all the purchased modules, if Accordance Software goes out of business? Is there a Plan B that unlocks those modules for use without a specific software? Or would all the modules be lost forever (which means emptying libraries that thousands of people rely on)?

Otherwise I find it really hard to justify spending a ton of money for something that might not last for the next decades.

What would you suggest?

Nothing is entirely future proof!

That said, we are committed to ensuring the future of Accordance for a long time to come. Even if it were to cease development, someone would probably step in to provide a solution for our users. We can still run classic Mac and Windows programs from 20 years ago on old machines and in emulators on current systems, when we really need to.

It's a very fair question, but even books that do not need to be compatible with any modern system, can be lost or destroyed by fire, flood, theft, worms....

• Like 10

I have used Accordance since 1994. It has gotten better and better. As Helen indicated, it cannot be guaranteed. Yet the track record has been outstanding.

• Like 5