Jump to content


Photo

Merging User Notes


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 byewcr

byewcr

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 15 May 2018 - 02:14 PM

I just discovered it was possible to merge notes and I wanted to be sure I understood what the end result would be if I used this command. 

 

When User Notes files are merged, are two identical notes in the two original files BOTH included in the merged file? If I should eliminate any potential for duplication before I merge files I will; this would still be far more efficient that comparing entries in two files and copying and pasting notes into one file to the other in order to update them. 

 

Thank you. 

 

Byron



#2 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 5,073 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 15 May 2018 - 03:01 PM

Byron, thanks for your question.  I believe the merge does not try to analyze notes to compare similarity, just combining the two files.  However, it may be faster to simply do the merge, scrolling through the list and deleting unneeded content, rather than many copy/paste operations.  It sort of depends on the size of your files and how much you expect to be duplicated.


Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#3 byewcr

byewcr

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Accordance Version:11.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 May 2018 - 01:13 PM

Thanks, Joel. I'm going ahead and merging and I'll delete the duplicates. That might keep me busy for a while!

I did get one error message for one file I could not merge: 

 

These User Notes cannot be merged

because their references are not in the 

same corpus. 



#4 _Ricardo_

_Ricardo_

    Member

  • Accordance
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 17 May 2018 - 12:05 PM

This is because the User Note files you are trying to merge are not of the same version. One might have extension .acc4 and the other one .amynotes (latest version). You will need to upgrade the .acc4 files from the Accordance Preferences/User Files. 

 

Take notice on what the names of your files are. You may not want to upgrade a file that has the same name as the upgraded file. I don't know what will happen, but it may be better to rename the file you are going to upgrade first.

 

Also, I'd backup all your user content before working with it. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users