Jump to content


Photo

Multiple Tabs Preserving Various Searches


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TYA

TYA

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 15 September 2018 - 07:41 PM

Great day.  Is it possible to have more than one "Search" tab open, and storing a particular search, at the same time?  Please see screenshot (attached).  If there isn't a way to do this, (though I know the History stores the recent searches), it would be nice to have multiple Search tabs available.  Multiple Research tabs are available, for which I am grateful.

Attached Files



#2 jarcher

jarcher

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 15 September 2018 - 07:55 PM

TYA, I would really recommend you watch some of the training videos for Accordance. You are going to be continually frustrated until you start to invest in your learning of Accordance.



#3 TYA

TYA

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 15 September 2018 - 08:12 PM

Jarcher, you are so helpful.  But I'm not sure what you mean by "invest in your learning of Accordance," as I've probably invested a hundred hours into learning this program already.

 

Actually, I'm pretty sure you mean "just watch some training videos," which I have already done also.  But 1) most of the podcasts, webinars, videos, etc. were made for older versions of Accordance; and as you know, many new features were just rolled out in 12.2.8--some aimed specifically at BibleWorks users.

 

2) Many of my questions, I can guarantee you, aren't covered in any of the videos.

 

When I worked Technical Support in the past, I would refer my clients to specific resources which I knew had the specific information they were looking for.  I never would have sent them on a rabbit trail, knowing they wouldn't find what they were looking for.

 

Therefore, I myself am totally open to being told, "You will find your answer in Video XYZ."  I would then go and watch if that issue was important enough to me.  (You yourself already helped me in this specific way, for which I am truly grateful).

 

I appreciate the forums because I can get live (or close to live) help, addressing the specific need.  And I'll be happy to give that help in return to those who need it, when I'm able to.

 

You personally have been a huge help.  Was there something wrong about this topic I posted?    Actually, my time here in the forums has already bolstered, or spawned feature requests to make Accordance better, so I believe that my posts (though containing some frustration, but believe me, highly tempered frustration) will be helpful to many others.

 

I'm not just asking for things here that would only help me.  Believe me.  I know what I'm doing.  I'm not trying to make Accordance like anything else--only to make Accordance the best it can be.

 

Again, I gently suggest considering if your advice to "watch training videos" (without being specific) is particularly helpful.

 

I know how Tab Ties should work, because I see them properly working in some cases.  But I made this post because certain issues are arising for which I don't have an explanation.  Would a video address why my "ETH (Acc)" version isn't syncing, while at the same time, my "LEE (Acc)" *is* syncing?  Almost certainly not.  But then, on the other hand, if you know of a video that would, I'm all ears.


Edited by TYA, 15 September 2018 - 08:14 PM.


#4 jarcher

jarcher

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 15 September 2018 - 08:23 PM

TYA, you didn't do anything wrong. But, I do feel that there are still some very basic philosophical ideas about how Accordance works that you haven't grasped yet (as I think was demonstrated in the 'tie tabs' thread). As a result, I think that is hurting your ability to use Accordance well. And honestly, that is probably just frustrating. And I don't want you to be frustrated. So, my advice to invest in learning Accordance was for your benefit, not because I don't want to help. Even the old podcasts will help you learn how to search effectively.

 

If you invest that time now (and it sounds like you have) then a lot of your future questions will probably be answered.

 

I'm not trying to be difficult. I'm actually trying to be helpful. :-) 

 

I've already answered your question in the tie tabs thread so I'll direct you there.


And to answer your question, yes, you can have as many search tabs open as you'd like. You can even right click and duplicate an existing tab.


Edited by jarcher, 15 September 2018 - 08:23 PM.


#5 דָנִיאֶל

דָנִיאֶל

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, Android

Posted 15 September 2018 - 09:04 PM

On the training point don't overlook the docs. They are pretty comprehensive. At one release or another I must have read most of them.
  • TYA likes this
Sola lingua bona est lingua mortua
ἡ μόνη ἀγαθὴ γλῶσσα γλῶσσα νεκρὰ ἐστιν
lišanu ēdēnitu damqitu lišanu mītu

"Du stammst vom Herrn Adam und der Herrin Eva ab", sagte Aslan. "Und das ist zugleich Ehre genug, um das Häupt des ärmsten Bettlers zu erheben, und genug, um die Schultern des größten Kaisers auf Erden zu beugen. Sei zufrieden." Aslan, Die Chroniken von Narnia, Prinz Kaspian von Narnia. CS Lewis. Übersetzt von Wolfgang Holbein und Christian Rendel.

Accordance Syntax Search For Wallace's Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics : https://github.com/4...WallaceInSyntax

Accordance Configurations :

Mac : 2009 27" iMac
12GB RAM

Windows : MSI GE72 7RE Apache Pro laptop
Intel Core Duo Intel i7 Kabylake

Android : Samsung Note III 5.0, Samsung Tab S3 7.0 and Lenovo TAB4 8" 7.1

#6 Joel Brown

Joel Brown

    Administrator

  • Admin
  • 5,265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows

Posted 15 September 2018 - 09:20 PM

To directly answer your question, you can make a new search tab by duplicating the existing one (Ctrl-d), or by opening a new one from the Library, File->New menu, New toolbar item, or the plus on the right side of your tabs in a zone.
Joel Brown

By day: Consultant for Oaktree
By night: Freelance Trombonist and Private Instructor

#7 TYA

TYA

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 16 September 2018 - 03:15 AM

Thanks Joel,

 

Pardon me if I wasn't clear.  I understand how to open other tabs (including Search).  The issue I'm facing here is that I can't keep the results from the initial search I performed to stay in the Search tab--even if I Detach it, or Duplicate it away from the original window.  (For the latter, which you recommended, see the attached screenshot).

 

My hope was that I could simply Detach the search tab (after having performed a search in it) from the original tab, and that by detaching it, it would keep the results preserved, while I then return to the original tab and perform a totally different search.  Then I could Detach that window and perform a third search--each tab preserving the results I just performed.  (This same concept seems to work fine for the Research tabs.  I've successfully had multiple Research tabs / windows open with different results in them).

 

As I mentioned in the original post, I am aware that the History records the searches I'm performing, so I should be able to click back in the history to re-run the search.  But pardon me if I'm a little untrusting of the History.  I'd much rather have an actual tab open, where I can see it, or hide it temporarily.

Attached Files



#8 Steve King

Steve King

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire, UK
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 September 2018 - 03:31 PM

Hi TYA

 

I'm on MAC but Windows should work the same. In duplicating the new tab it is blank but the original tab should have your search saved. You can enter the new search in new blank tab. Does that not give you what you want? Or were you expecting the search to be duplicated as well?

 

If I detach a tab then it also keeps my search saved - is that not happening for you?

 

I detach the tab

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 21.37.54.png   606.28KB   0 downloads

 

And this is the result:

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 21.38.15.png   491.29KB   0 downloads


Edited by Steve King, 16 September 2018 - 03:32 PM.

Steve King Running Accordance 12.2.3.1 on:

 

Mac 10.13.3 (High Sierra), late 2017 15 inch Macbook Pro, 16Gb RAM

iPad2 IOS 9

iPhone 6 IOS 11


#9 TYA

TYA

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 17 September 2018 - 01:22 AM

Dear Steve et al., 

 

Is Duplication the *only* way to keep two separate search tabs open, each unaffiliated with each other, and thus each preserving unique search results?  I don't like how the Duplicate option wipes out all my data.

 

Here (attached) is a good way to show my question.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  #1.jpg   153.26KB   0 downloads
  • Attached File  #2.jpg   230.79KB   0 downloads


#10 Steve King

Steve King

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire, UK
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 17 September 2018 - 07:39 AM

Just to make sure I've understood this correctly - your issue is with the search history of the separate searches. Is that correct? When you duplicate a tab and do a new search on it then it seems to update the history on the original tab as well.

 

I tried this on the MAC and the original search history was not updated with the search from the 'new' tab. I did the following:

 

Did a lexeme search with a range which put that search in the history

I duplicated the tab. The duplicated tab includes the search history from the original tab

I then ran a search in the new tab and the search history was updated so that the new search was first in the list

I looked at the old tab and that still had the original search as its first in the history.

 

So the new tab has the following search history:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 13.43.19.png   539.72KB   0 downloads

 

The old tab does not have the newest search:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 13.41.17.png   374.82KB   0 downloads

 

It that what you are hoping for? Does it not work like that in Windows?


Steve King Running Accordance 12.2.3.1 on:

 

Mac 10.13.3 (High Sierra), late 2017 15 inch Macbook Pro, 16Gb RAM

iPad2 IOS 9

iPhone 6 IOS 11


#11 jarcher

jarcher

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Dakota
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 17 September 2018 - 08:06 AM

TYA, right now you have recycle enabled on that search window. As a result, every new search that you do with the contextual menu it will search again in that window verses opening a new one.

 

You can disable window recycling by clicking the recycle button in the top right.

 

Is that what you dislike?

 

 

Attached File  search.jpg   151.46KB   0 downloads


Edited by jarcher, 17 September 2018 - 08:08 AM.


#12 TYA

TYA

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 17 September 2018 - 02:12 PM

You can disable window recycling by clicking the recycle button in the top right.

 

Bingo.  That did it.  Thanks! (see attached).

Attached Files


Edited by TYA, 17 September 2018 - 02:13 PM.

  • jarcher and Timothy Jenney like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users