To use or not to use the notes feature?

Cnthetford

I am brand new to Accordance and as was the case when I have used eSword and PC Study Bible I have to make the choice as to whether or not to use the notes feature.  I hate to accumulate a few years worth of notes, only to find that they are inaccessible in the event that I stop using the software (either by choice or by being forced to for some reason).  As a result, I have always resorted to saving my notes in OneNote.

If I choose to use the notes feature, is there a simple way to export all notes either to a printable format?  Using the "Sample Notes", I was able to use CTRL-A to select all notes, copy them and then paste them into a word document.   What I don't know is how well that technique would work with a few thousand notes rather and a few dozen.

Does anyone have any experience exporting large numbers of notes?  There are a number of similar questions on this, but I haven't seen a definitive answer and most of the posts are > 4 years old so I don't know what might have changed.

• Like 1

I would explore stacks and papers as well. I found notes too restrictive as i tend to work on chunks of verses so stacks was great for me but after years of making my annotations in an external program, equivalent to one note, i decided to continue with that workflow.

Dont you want to continue building your existing one note library so all your notes are in one place and to some extent bible software independent?

Both reasons you give are good reasons to keep doing what I'm doing.  I just feel like I'm not taking full advantage of the software by using integrated notes.

I could gradually pull my notes in from OneNote, but the concern about being software independent is very real.  I think I'm likely to continue doing what I'm doing but just thought I'd ask to see if someone can change my mind! :)

And you can continue to sync on android???.?