Help decide between commentaries

Lorinda H. M. Hoover

I'm starting a preaching series on Colossians, and I'm looking for a commentary that will deal with the Greek text and is available in Accordance as an individual purchase.  Specifically, I'm trying to decide between the NIGTC volume by Dunn and the Zondervan Exegetical Commentary by Pao.  

I'm a United Methodist Pastor and centrist/progressive in my theology, if that matters.  I'm aware they are both by evangelical scholars, which is not a problem for me.  That said, if one is notably more more dismissive/negative about more centrist or progressive positions than the other, that might be a factor.

One factor in favor of Pao for me is that he is Chinese American.

I currently have the following commentary series in Accordance: Tyndale, Wisdom, NIVAC, ZIBBCNT, and Exegetical Guide to the GNT.  If I didn't have Tyndale, and thus an NT Wright commentary, I'd definitely think about the NT Wright commentary series that's on sale right now.  

I'm open to suggestions of more application oriented commentaries as well, but, given that I have several as part of series already, for those type of commentaries I'm mostly interested in ones that are written from a more centrist/progressive perspective and/or are written by a woman or person of color.  And, only if they are good, solid commentaries. 

(And yes I've looked at bestcommetaries.com)

Lorinda,

My quick thoughts, as a user, are as follows (in no particular order):

• Pao is nearly 100pg longer than Dunn. Granting word count is not correlative to quality, it is offers a possibility for greater depth.
  • Dunn (1996) is nearly 20 years older than Pao (2012) and thus the latter's interaction with scholarship will be more up to date.
  • That being the case, Pao interacts nearly 30 times with Dunn's commentary.
  • Dunn would be far more likely to be centrist leaning than Pao.
  • But yeah, Dunn is an old, white guy.