Jump to content


Photo

MacBook Air


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Dataduffy

Dataduffy

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shanghai, China
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 12 April 2020 - 11:08 PM

Just wondering if anyone can comment on how Accordance runs on a MacBook Air. 

I had the unfortunate case of dropping my MacBook Pro yesterday. If it is not possible to fix it, i was thinking about getting a new MacBook Air as a replacement, as I only really use the MacBook Pro for Accordance.

 

Any comments would be great,

 

thanks

John

 



#2 Joe Weaks

Joe Weaks

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Odessa, TX
  • Interests:I like things that are Orange, and possibly Blue.
  • Accordance Version:11.x

Posted 12 April 2020 - 11:58 PM

It will run great on the new Airs


  • Dataduffy likes this
Joe Weaks
The Macintosh Biblioblog

Sometimes I'm so helpful even I can't stand it.

#3 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,177 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek, Hebrew (trying again...)
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 06:05 AM

I have a MacBook Pro but it's literally 8 years old (doesn't even have a retina screen, can't run all the features of Catalina) and Accordance still runs great on it. The new Airs are much better machines.


2020 Macbook Air
OS 10.15.5 Catalina


#4 MattChristian

MattChristian

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Twitter:@readingbackward
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC
  • Interests:Assyriology, Dead Sea Scrolls, Semitic Linguistics, Language Contact, Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Akkadian,. Ugaritic, Sumerian, Hittite,Jesus, Coffee
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 06:22 AM

My Air runs Accordance 13 fine. Some lag here and there but manageable. I also have Logos running and do not shut either program down very much so both are running a lot. Still works great


Cheers,

 

Matt C


#5 rcdeacon

rcdeacon

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,331 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hobbsville, North Carolina
  • Interests:Bible, computers
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS, Android

Posted 13 April 2020 - 06:23 AM

Accordance works great on my MacBook Air which is about 3-4 years old!

 

Bob


Edited by rcdeacon, 13 April 2020 - 06:23 AM.

Bob Deacon 

Accordance 13,

Ipad Air 2 IOS 13  Samsung A50 Android

Surface Pro 6 Windows 10

MacBook Air Big Sur Beta

 

Pastor Buckhorn Baptist Church, Como, NC


#6 Pastor Vinny

Pastor Vinny

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:10.x

Posted 13 April 2020 - 07:36 AM

Just got my new 2020 Macbook Air and it is amazing!  Runs Accordance just fine.  I have the top of the line loaded one; so no lag whatsoever.



#7 showens

showens

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 13 April 2020 - 07:52 AM

Just got my new 2020 Macbook Air and it is amazing!  Runs Accordance just fine.  I have the top of the line loaded one; so no lag whatsoever.

 

I'm not a Mac user right now, but I'm pondering it in my heart.  Not sure what "loaded" means, but I've been wondering how it would do with 8GB of memory.  I found my Windows machine with 8GB would run low on memory if I had Accordance, a browser with a bunch of tabs, and a few misc. programs concurrently.  Does the low end Macbook Air handle that scenario well?



#8 Dataduffy

Dataduffy

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shanghai, China
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 08:37 AM

Wow, thanks for all the answers everyone. :)

very much appreciated.

 

John



#9 MattChristian

MattChristian

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Twitter:@readingbackward
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC
  • Interests:Assyriology, Dead Sea Scrolls, Semitic Linguistics, Language Contact, Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Akkadian,. Ugaritic, Sumerian, Hittite,Jesus, Coffee
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 09:08 AM

I'm not a Mac user right now, but I'm pondering it in my heart.  Not sure what "loaded" means, but I've been wondering how it would do with 8GB of memory.  I found my Windows machine with 8GB would run low on memory if I had Accordance, a browser with a bunch of tabs, and a few misc. programs concurrently.  Does the low end Macbook Air handle that scenario well?

I switched to Mac a year or so ago. Far superior in terms of usability. I will NEVER go back to a PC


  • Unix likes this

Cheers,

 

Matt C


#10 showens

showens

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Windows

Posted 13 April 2020 - 09:29 AM

I switched to Mac a year or so ago. Far superior in terms of usability. I will NEVER go back to a PC

 

What are the specs of your Mac?



#11 Lester P. Bagley

Lester P. Bagley

    Silver

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 10:52 AM

I'm not a Mac user right now, but I'm pondering it in my heart.  Not sure what "loaded" means, but I've been wondering how it would do with 8GB of memory.  I found my Windows machine with 8GB would run low on memory if I had Accordance, a browser with a bunch of tabs, and a few misc. programs concurrently.  Does the low end Macbook Air handle that scenario well?

 

"Loaded" means at least get the maximum amount of RAM (in this case 16GB). This allows for much faster operation when running multiple programs (for example, Accordance + your favorite word processor + web browsers for research + other things you may need or want). The 512GB SSD should be a minimum. If you have a lots of other programs, pictures, documents and other assorted files you may want at least a 1TB SSD. Never attempt to use a drive that is just big enough to hold everything! In short, when you buy, get at top-of-the-line as you can. That will make it useful for many years to come and for all the things you inevitably add on later.


  • Mark Allison likes this

Lester P. Bagley
MacBookPro15,3 (Retina, 15-inch, 2019)
Mac OS 10.15 (often beta) - 32GB RAM

iPhone 11 Pro with iOS 13 (often beta)


#12 MattChristian

MattChristian

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Twitter:@readingbackward
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC
  • Interests:Assyriology, Dead Sea Scrolls, Semitic Linguistics, Language Contact, Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Akkadian,. Ugaritic, Sumerian, Hittite,Jesus, Coffee
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 11:30 AM

What are the specs of your Mac?

macOS Mojave Version 10.14.3

MacBook Air 13" (2017)

1.8 GHz Intel Core i5

8GB 1600 MHz DDR3


Cheers,

 

Matt C


#13 Dan Langston

Dan Langston

    Bronze

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 13 April 2020 - 01:26 PM

I have a 2010 Macbook Air  256 GB (SSD) and 4 GB ram.

 

Accordance 13.08 runs quickly and efficiently.  I can't say the same about other things. One of the top reasons I recommend Accordance to my students is because it works so well, update after update, on older machines. 


Edited by Dan Langston, 13 April 2020 - 01:26 PM.

  • Mark Allison, Unix and MattChristian like this

Dr. Dan Langston

Professor of Bible & Christian Education

Southwestern Assemblies of God University

Bible on the Go with Dr. Dan


#14 ericchow

ericchow

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS, Android

Posted 02 June 2020 - 12:48 PM

Did you guys have the same problem i have after install Accordance 13 in MBA?  I just got my MBA last week and installed Accordance 13 in it.  I saved the Accordance Folder to my Document.  Some functions require me to choose "Where the file is for ..." i looked up those folders, nothing i can choose.  Did I install it incorrectly or save the folder in wrong location?  thanks. 



#15 Fabian

Fabian

    Mithril

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,784 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 03 June 2020 - 03:31 AM

The app should be in programs. The folder Accordance Files in Documents. 


Greetings

Fabian

ATTENTION: My bug reports are all with the GERMAN INTERFACE and with the EUROPEAN NOTATION! It can be the English interface has no bugs, I describe.

PLEASE!
Bring more international Bibles to the store,
fix my reported bugs, even the old ones which never was addressed,
develop my feature requests, the new once and the once I made years ago,
in nearer future.

#16 MattChristian

MattChristian

    Gold

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Twitter:@readingbackward
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC
  • Interests:Assyriology, Dead Sea Scrolls, Semitic Linguistics, Language Contact, Hebrew, Greek, Syriac, Akkadian,. Ugaritic, Sumerian, Hittite,Jesus, Coffee
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 03 June 2020 - 08:27 AM

Did you guys have the same problem i have after install Accordance 13 in MBA?  I just got my MBA last week and installed Accordance 13 in it.  I saved the Accordance Folder to my Document.  Some functions require me to choose "Where the file is for ..." i looked up those folders, nothing i can choose.  Did I install it incorrectly or save the folder in wrong location?  thanks. 

The only problem I had initially was I downloaded the App Store version and not the version from the Accordance site. That caused some problems for me. Other than that- No problems. I just got an Apple iPad Air and the Accordance App works great on it as well


Cheers,

 

Matt C


#17 Ethan

Ethan

    Member

  • Active Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 03 June 2020 - 08:54 AM

Did you guys have the same problem i have after install Accordance 13 in MBA?  I just got my MBA last week and installed Accordance 13 in it.  I saved the Accordance Folder to my Document.  Some functions require me to choose "Where the file is for ..." i looked up those folders, nothing i can choose.  Did I install it incorrectly or save the folder in wrong location?  thanks. 

If you're moving your entire Accordance 13 collection from an old Mac to a new Mac you just have to take note of the following three Accordance folders:

 

1. "Accordance" in ~/Library/Application Support/

2. "Accordance Preferences" in ~/Library/Preferences/

3. "Accordance Files" in Documents folder

 

I've always backup and restore these 3 folders whenever I move from an old Mac to a new one or reformat (clean install) an existing Mac. This should save and restore all your existing modules and sessions from last use. Been doing that since Accordance 9.


Edited by Ethan, 03 June 2020 - 08:55 AM.

  • Unix likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users