Jump to content


Photo

Copying from the Russian Translation末Can I choose the font?

Russian Copying text

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Brian Kinzel

Brian Kinzel

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bar Ilan University
  • Interests:Bible, Hebrew, preaching, teaching, training, Russian
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 07:36 AM

Can you tell me why when I copy from the Russian Bible (RUSB module) the text is pasted in the target document as the geneva font? And is there any way of changing this? I have the display set as Times New Roman, but it still ends up as Geneva, not my favorite.

thanks,

#2 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests:」ソ gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:20 AM

If you're using Word, after pasting, a little icon displays at the end of the pasted text. Clicking it and selecting 'match destination formatting' will match the font/size/style at the insertion point.

Also, since this Bible text doesn't have any formatting (bold, italics, etc.) you can also use Paste Special…Unformatted Text in Word (shft-cmd-opt v in other word processors) and it will match the insertion point.

HTH…
Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development

#3 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,048 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:07 AM

HTH…


What does HTH mean?
Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#4 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests:」ソ gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:09 AM

What does HTH mean?


hope this helps
Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development

#5 JonathanHuber

JonathanHuber

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Interests:Bible study, Greek
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:20 AM

You might consider using a text-expander utility to spell it out. I've seen that acronym many times and had no idea what it meant either.

2012 non-retina Macbook Pro
OS 10.14.6 Mojave


#6 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests:」ソ gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:26 AM

You might consider using a text-expander utility to spell it out. I've seen that acronym many times and had no idea what it meant either.


Ha, sorry about that. :) I use TextExpander on a daily basis - not a bad idea.
Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development

#7 Ruben Gomez

Ruben Gomez

    Gold

  • Accordance
  • 361 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 12:25 PM

I'm all against acronyms, FWIW! :D (Sorry, couldn't resist...)

Edited by Ruben Gomez, 16 March 2012 - 12:27 PM.

Rubテゥn Gテウmez


#8 Michael J. Bolesta

Michael J. Bolesta

    Platinum

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,048 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Addison TX
  • Interests:scripture study, preaching, teaching
  • Accordance Version:13.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 16 March 2012 - 04:43 PM

Thanks. Now I do not feel so bad that I did not know. Thanks for all your help!
Michael
Accordance on Macintosh, iPhone, and iPad

#9 Brian Kinzel

Brian Kinzel

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bar Ilan University
  • Interests:Bible, Hebrew, preaching, teaching, training, Russian
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 19 March 2012 - 06:06 AM

Rick,

Yes, I do use Word, and yes, I am continually using the "match destination formatting" button. I actually am trying to find out if I can get Accordance to just use Time New Romans font for the Russian text. I do this for other texts, and it copies as the text I select. For some reason unknown to me, the Russian comes in different.

Any tips for fixing this in Accordance?

#10 Rick Bennett

Rick Bennett

    Mithril

  • Accordance
  • 2,703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa Bay, FL
  • Interests:」ソ gadgets, coffee, running and cycling, Rays baseball
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, Windows, iOS

Posted 19 March 2012 - 09:09 AM

In tool modules Accordance will retain the display font when copying, but in Unicode Bibles this isn't possible. The developers are looking into some other issues related to font designation when copying text, I can forward this on to see if there's any relation. For now, the best option is to continue to use 'Match destination…'

Edited by Rick Bennett, 19 March 2012 - 09:10 AM.

Rick Bennett
Director of Content Development

#11 Brian Kinzel

Brian Kinzel

    Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bar Ilan University
  • Interests:Bible, Hebrew, preaching, teaching, training, Russian
  • Accordance Version:12.x
  • Platforms:Mac OS X, iOS

Posted 21 March 2012 - 07:20 AM

Rick, thanks. Guess with Russian I am stuck with extra step of changing the font. I just found this strange, since everything else (including texts) I copy from Accordance stays in the font I have designated.

I would think it worthwhile to forward this to the developers, since this seems to be anomaly.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Russian, Copying text

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users