Word Study

Oheyward

I am new to accordance 10. I have just purchased ultimate. I am attempting to do a word study. I am not sure how to begin with this software. How would i see what my greek lexicons say on a particular term in a text? For example, if i am in Philippians 2:6, and i wanted to look up the word "fashion", how would i get a report back on what my lexicons say about this term? Thanks in advance!

Assuming you're reading from a key number text (like the ESVS), triple-click the word and it will open in the linked key number dictionary. If that's not enough info, triple click the Greek word in that entry and it open up a Greek lexicon. The same pattern applies to Hebrew words in the OT. If you want to jump straight from the ESVS to the Greek lexicon, select the word, hold the option key, and then amplify to the Greek lexicon from the tool bar, menu bar, library window, or contextual menu (right click).

Another option: if you hold open a Greek or Hebrew text in a parallel pane, hovering the mouse over the English word will cross-highlight the corresponding Greek or Hebrew word, and you can proceed from there.

The key number dictionaries are pre-linked. If you have more than one Greek or Hebrew lexicon, the default will be whichever is at the top of the list in the library under Greek tools or Hebrew tools.

Edited by JonathanHuber
  • Like 1

Hi Oheyward!

and thanks Jonathan!

The other way is top open your instant details pane (from the toolbar or CMD-OPT-2

Then when you mouse over a word (in a keyed text - i.e. HCSBS or KJVS or ESVS or NIV-G/K- the S stands for Stong's numbers, G/K for Goodrich-Kohlenberger numbers - keys in Accordance speak) you see the gloss entry in the instant details pane, and if you hold down CMD as you mouseover, you see your first Dictionary entry for the term.